The NYC Human Rights Law, Title 8 of the Administrative Code of the City of New York, prohibits discrimination in New York City. Individuals are protected from discrimination in many areas, based on a number of protected classes.

Areas Covered by the Human Rights Law:

Protected Classes under the Human Rights Law:

  • Age
  • Alienage or citizenship status
  • Color
  • Disability
  • Gender (including sexual harassment)
  • Gender Identity
  • Marital status and partnership status
  • National origin
  • Pregnancy
  • Race
  • Religion/Creed
  • Sexual orientation
  • Status as a Veteran or Active Military Service Member

Additional protections are afforded in employment based on:

Additional protections are afforded in housing based on:

The City Human Rights Law requires that the complaint be filed within one year of the last alleged act of discrimination.

The alleged act of discrimination must have taken place within, or have sufficient connection to, the five boroughs of New York City for a complaint to be filed with the NYC Commission on Human Rights.