Carlo A. Scissura

Carlo A. Scissura, a lifelong New Yorker and President and CEO of the New York Building Congress, will be the Secretary of the Commission. Before his time at the Building Congress, Scissura spent years as a dedicated public servant in Brooklyn – working as the President and CEO of the Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce and as Chief of Staff and General Counsel to Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz.

Larian Angelo

Larian Angelo is a Senior Fellow at the CUNY Institute for State and Local Governance (ISLG). Prior to joining the ISLG, she served in city government for 27 years as first deputy director at the NYC Office of Management and Budget (OMB), Vice-President for Administration at Guttman Community College, deputy director for education and intergovernmental relations at OMB and Finance Director at the New York City Council. Angelo holds a Ph.D in economics.

Deborah N. Archer

Deborah N. Archer is an Associate Professor of Clinical Law at NYU Law. She was previously an Assistant Counsel at the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund where she litigated at the trial and appellate levels in cases involving affirmative action in higher education, employment discrimination, school desegregation, and voting rights. Archer additionally served as a Marvin H. Karpatkin Fellow with the American Civil Liberties Union where she was involved in federal and state litigation on issues of race and poverty. Archer previously served as a mayoral appointee to the New York City Civilian Complaint Review Board.

Kyle Bragg

Kyle Bragg is 32BJ SEIU’s Secretary-Treasurer. A member of the 165,000 member 32BJ for more than 30 years, Kyle serves as trustee of several 32BJ funds and as chair of the union’s social and economic justice committee. He is a member of the executive board of the two million-member national Service Employee International Union, the National African-American Caucus of SEIU and serves on the international union’s first Racial Justice Task Force.  Bragg also serves as a board member of Community Board 13 in Queens.

Marco A. Carrión

Marco A. Carrión is the Commissioner of the Mayor’s Community Affairs Unit, working to connect City Hall to communities across the city, especially in the outer boroughs. Before his role as Commissioner, Marco was the Political and Legislative Director for the New York City Central Labor Council, Chief of Staff to New York State Senator Gustavo Rivera, Director of New York City Intergovernmental Affairs to Governor David Paterson, and worked for the AFL CIO in Washington D.C.

Una Clarke

Una Clarke serves as President of Una Clarke Associates, a consulting firm specializing primarily in education management, political consulting, and small business services. Previously, Clarke served as a New York City Councilwoman, representing Brooklyn’s 40th Council District for 10 years starting in 1991. Clarke sponsored more than 300 pieces of legislation on issues including child welfare, education, health and mental health, economic development, public safety and transportation. Clarke is currently a CUNY trustee, appointed by Mayor de Blasio.

Angela Fernandez

Angela Fernandez is the Executive Director and Supervising Attorney of Northern Manhattan Coalition for Immigrant Rights, a leading community-based legal services and advocacy organization for low-income immigrants. She brings to the Board 20 years of experience in law, media, non-profit management, government, policy development, and advocacy. Her prior government experience includes working as District Chief of Staff to U.S. Representative José  Serrano and as a staff aide to U.S. Senator Bill Bradley.

Sharon Greenberger

Sharon Greenberger is the 10th President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater New York, a leading New York City non-profit organization serving over 500,000 children, adults and seniors annually through programs and services focused on empowering youth, improving health, and strengthening community. Prior to joining the YMCA in July 2015, Sharon served as the Senior Vice President, Facilities and Real Estate at New York-Presbyterian Hospital and the Chief Operating Officer for the New York City Department of Education.

Dale Ho

Dale Ho is the Director of the ACLU's Voting Rights Project where he supervises the ACLU’s voting rights litigation and advocacy work nationwide. Ho has active cases in over a dozen states throughout the country. He has litigated cases under the federal Voting Rights Act and the National Voter Registration Act. Ho is also an adjunct professor of law at NYU School of Law.

Mendy Mirocznik

Mendy Mirocznik is the president of C.O.J.O of Staten Island, a borough wide civic organization dedicated to providing services to those less fortunate, including housing and a food pantry which provides hundreds of hot meals to our fixed income seniors. Mirocznik is also a member of Community Board 2.

Annetta Seecharran

Annetta Seecharran has a 25 years track record working to improve conditions for marginalized communities -- having led key initiatives benefiting immigrants and young people; and always drawing attention to emerging trends impacting vulnerable populations. She is currently the Executive Director of Chhaya Community Development Corporation, previously led South Asian Youth Action and has served as Director of Policy for United Neighborhood Houses.

John Siegal

John Siegal is a partner at BakerHostetler where he handles litigations, arbitrations, and appeals for clients in the financial services, media, and real estate industries. Siegal’s public service experience includes working as an Assistant to Mayor David N. Dinkins and as a Capitol Hill staff aide to Senator (then Congressman) Charles E. Schumer. 

Wendy Weiser

Wendy Weiser directs the Democracy Program at the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law. Her program focuses on voting rights and elections, money in politics and ethics, redistricting and representation, government dysfunction, rule of law, and fair courts. She founded and directed the program’s Voting Rights and Elections Project, directing litigation, research, and advocacy efforts to enhance political participation and prevent voter disenfranchisement across the country.