Amusement Arcade License Application Checklist
Repeal of Gaming Café and Amusement Arcade Licenses
Local Law 80 of 2021 repeals the licensing requirement for gaming cafes and amusement arcades. The repeal goes into effect on January 16, 2022. Learn more.
For health and safety reasons, the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) Licensing Center and NYC Small Business Support Center cannot serve walk-ins, but you can schedule an appointment to submit your license application in person. See Application Filing Process section.
Note: As in-person service is limited, we encourage you to use our online service which is available 24/7.
Who Must Have an Amusement Arcade License?
Any premises where 10 or more amusement devices are located requires an Amusement Arcade license.
This description is only a general explanation of which businesses need to have an Amusement Arcade license.
Before You File Your DCWP License Application:
- Premises Approval by the Fire Department
You must receive premises approval from the Fire Department (FDNY) in order to obtain an Amusement Arcade license. Complete the Application to Request an Inspection/Recommendation and DCWP will forward your request to FDNY. FDNY will notify DCWP of your inspection results. Please note that if you fail the inspection, it is your responsibility to correct problems.
- Community Board and Council Member Review
DCWP will submit a copy of your Application to Request an Inspection/Recommendation to the Community Board and Council Member where your premises will be located. The Community Board and Council Member have 15 days to respond and their feedback will be taken into consideration in the review of your license application.
- Electrical Inspection
The premises must be in compliance with all current electrical building codes. Please obtain ONE of the following as proof of an electrical inspection:
- A copy of a statement from a licensed electrician, on official business letterhead, stating that the premises comply with all current electrical building codes OR
- A current copy of the Certificate of Occupancy issued by the Department of Buildings (DOB) dated within 90 days of application submission. Note: A Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is not an acceptable proof of an electrical inspection.
- Applicable Business Certificates based on your Business's Legal Structure (Although DCWP does not require submission of these documents in order to process your application in person or online, DCWP reserves the right to request and examine the documents under section 20.104 of the New York City Administrative Code.)
- Sole Proprietorships operating under a name other than your own must file a Business/Assumed Name Certificate with the clerk of the county in which your business is conducted.
- Sole Proprietorships doing business under your own name—and not under a trade or Doing-Business-As (DBA) name—do not need a Business Certificate.
- General/Business Partnerships must file your Partnership Certificate with the clerk of the county in which your business is conducted.
- Corporations, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, or Limited Liability Partnerships must register and remain active with the New York State Department of State. Active status will be verified by DCWP prior to license issuance. You can confirm the status of your business entity at NYS Web site. If applicable, you must also file an Assumed Name Certificate for your business.
- Businesses incorporated out of state must obtain a Certificate of Doing Business in Good Standing from your home state’s Secretary of State and file this with an application for Authority to Conduct Business in New York with the New York State Secretary of State.
When You File Your DCWP License Application:
Below are requirements when filing your license application:
- Basic License Application
Online submission: After reviewing the application requirements, please click the Apply Online link at the bottom of the Web page to submit your application.
In-person submission: Download the Basic License Application Form.
- Application to Request an Inspection/Recommendation (download)
See description above. DCWP will forward the request to FDNY and the relevant Community Board and Council Member for review and/or approval.
- Proof of Electrical Inspection
See description above.
- Sales Tax Identification Number OR Certificate of Authority Application Confirmation Number
The Sales Tax Identification Number is the 9, 10, or 11-digit number on your New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Certificate of Authority. You must enter this number on the Basic License Application form. If you have not received your Certificate of Authority, please enter the 6-digit confirmation number you received when you successfully submitted the application for a Certificate of Authority.
To apply for a Certificate of Authority, visit the NYS License Center. You will need a NY.gov ID to access the application form. To request a paper application, call (518) 485-2889. Allow four to six weeks after applying to the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance to receive your Certificate of Authority.
- Department of Buildings Documents
You must submit a copy of the Certificate of Occupancy, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy (expiring no less than 30 days from date of application submission), OR Letter of No Objection from DOB confirming that your premises is suitable to operate your business. If you submit a Certificate of Occupancy or Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, it must be the most current version and show approval of the premises for “Use Group 15” and “Arcade” or “Amusement Arcade.”
In addition, if the premises will be able to accommodate 75 or more persons, you must submit a copy of your Place of Assembly Certificate of Operation issued by DOB. The certificate must be the most current version and indicate the usage for an amusement arcade. For more information, visit DOB’s Web site
- Child Support Certification Form (download)
If your business is a SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP or GENERAL or LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, the proprietor or each individual general partner must submit a Child Support Certification Form.
- Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (download)
If this application will be filed by someone other than the license applicant, the license applicant must submit a Granting Authority to Act Affirmation.
- License Fee
Must be paid by credit card, money order, or check. Cards accepted at the DCWP Licensing Center include Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover Card. Credit card payments are subject to a convenience fee. Checks or money orders must be payable to NYC Department of Consumer Affairs. The chart below lists the amount due depending upon when your license application is filed. Note: An odd year is any year ending in an odd digit; for example, 2013, 2015, etc. An even year is any year ending in an even digit; for example, 2014, 2016, etc.
Please note that a convenience fee applies if you submit your license application online. A major credit card is required to submit applications online.
|Amusement Arcade License Fee
License Term: 2 years
License Expiration Date: January 16, Even years
|If You File Your Application Between These Dates:
||Your License Fee is:
|From January 17 in an even year to July 16 in an even year
|From July 17 in an even year to January 16 in an odd year
|From January 17 in an odd year to July 16 in an odd year
|From July 17 in an odd year to January 16 in an even year
||$85 or *$425
*If you are applying within six months of the license expiration date, you can pay the prorated fee for the remaining license term plus the full fee to renew the license for the next term. If you pay both fees, you will not need to renew the license until the end of the next license period.
Application Filing Process
- Review requirements and gather all materials before clicking the button below. The online service is available using a laptop or desktop computer only.
- If you haven’t registered an account with the City of New York, you will need to register an account before you can proceed to the online application.
- After you submit the online application, follow the instructions on the confirmation page. DCWP cannot process incomplete applications.
- Important: If you need to file another license application, return to the Apply for a DCWP License page to read requirements and proceed to the next online application.
File In Person
Schedule an appointment to file in person at the DCWP Licensing Center or NYC Small Business Support Center
|DCWP LICENSING CENTER
42 Broadway, Lobby
New York, NY 10004
By Appointment Only Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.
|NYC SMALL BUSINESS SUPPORT CENTER
90-27 Sutphin Blvd, 4th Floor
Jamaica, NY 11435
By Appointment Only Hours:
Tuesday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.
By Email: LicensingAppointments@dca.nyc.gov
By Phone*: Call (212) 436-0441. (Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.)
*This number is to schedule an appointment for in-person service only. For general questions, email email@example.com.
Free Interpretation Services are available on-site. To request a disability-related accommodation, please email DCWP’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org or visit our Accommodations page.
Additional Resources for Amusement Arcade
- For resources to help your business open, operate, and grow, visit nyc.gov/business.
Get Voter Information
Note: Whether you apply to register to vote or not, it will not affect the assistance DCWP will provide to you.