Department of Design and Construction311Search all NYC.gov websites

Gown Advisory Council

The Gown Advisory Council (GAC) is created under the Master Academic Consortium Contract registered with respect to each of academic institutions listed below:

Under the Master Academic Consortium Contract, each academic institution identifies at least one representative to participate in the GAC, which will meet periodically to raise, discuss and resolve issues related to the Master Academic Consortium Contract.  Among the issues the GAC focuses on are:

  • supporting Town+Gown’s systemic action research cycle, including the annual research agenda,
  • refreshing the institutional memory at Consultant entities with respect to Town+Gown and this Consortium Contract, so that Mini RFPs receive the greatest exposure to and thus highest practicable level of competition within Gown,
  • increasing built environment applied research in the context of Town+Gown, including but not limited to collaborating on increasing third-party funding for such research; and
  • working with the Director of Town+Gown to develop an open source platform within Town+Gown to facilitate multi-disciplinary collaborations across academic institutions and City agencies.

GAC Representatives


Brooklyn Law School

Debra Bechtel
Associate Professor of Clinical Law
Debra.Bechtel@Brooklaw.edu
718-780-7994


City University of New York

Zee Dagan, PhD.
Executive Director, Entrepreneurial Research Initiatives
Zee.Dagan@cuny.edu
646-664-8948

* Treasurer
** Member of Executive Committee


Columbia University

Victoria Hamilton
Executive Director/Research Initiatives
victoria.hamilton@columbia.edu
212-854-1343


The Cooper Union

Siri Comeau McDonald
Director of Corporate & Foundation Relations
scomeau@cooper.edu
212-353-4138


Cornell University

Jennifer Sarah Tiffany, PhD.
Executive Director, Cornell University Cooperative Extension
jst5@cornell.edu
607-255-1042

David Kay
Senior Extension Associate, Community & Regional Development Institute
dlk2@cornell.edu
607-255-2123

* Co-Vice President
** Member of Executive Committee


Drexel University

Aleister Saunders, PhD.
Senior Vice Provost for Research
DUResearch@drexel.edu
215-895-6772


Fordham University

Thomas A. Dunne, J.D.
Vice President for Administration
tdunne@fordham.edu
718-817-7268


Manhattan College

Elizabeth Cowper Jinks
Director of Grants Administration
ejinks01@manhattan.edu
718-862-7160


The New School

David Ngo
Associate Provost
ngod@newschool.edu
212-229-8947, Ext.2104


New York Institute of Technology

Robert Cody, RA, LEED, AP, AIA
Coodinator and Dept. Chair, Architecture
rcody@nyit.edu
516-686-74101

* Secretary
** Member of Executive Committee


New York University

Bud Griffis
Professor and Director
Center for Construction Management
griffis@nyu.edu
646-997-3713


Pace Unversity

Sally Dickerson
Associate Provost for Research
sdickerson@pace.edu
212-346-1345


Pratt Institute

Deborah Gans
Professor, Undergraduate Architecture
dgans@pratt.edu
718-399-4305

* President
** Member of Executive Committee


State University of New York

Michael Fancher
Vice President for Business Development and Econmic Outreach
mfancher@sunypoly.edu
518-437-8670


Tufts University

Simin Meydani
Vice Provost for Research
simin.meydani@tufts.edu
617-556-3224

Jacqueline Dejean
Assistant Dean of Research, Arts & Sciences
Jackie.Dejean@tufts.edu
617-627-4745

* Co-Vice President
** Member of Executive Committee


Any combination of City agencies, State agencies and certain not-for-profit corporations, using their own funds (collectively the "requesting entity") can utilize the Master Academic Consortium Contract by submitting a Town+Gown RFP document to Town+Gown/DDC as administrator for the Master Academic Consortium Contract, for Town+Gown to transmit to the consortium pool of institutions.  For more information, please see this document.


Town+Gown Director: Terri Matthews
matthewte@ddc.nyc.gov
(718) 391-1673

 

Back to Town+Gown