City Hall Tours

Learn more about City Hall with our online exhibit that highlights the landmarked rotunda, City Council Chamber, and Governor's Room, a reception room that houses part of the City Hall Portrait Collection and historic furnishings.

One of the oldest continuously used City Halls in the nation that still houses its original governmental functions, New York's City Hall is considered one of the finest architectural achievements of its period. Constructed from 1803 to 1812, the building was an early expression of the City's cosmopolitanism. City Hall is a designated New York City landmark, and its rotunda is a designated interior landmark as well.

Reservation tours of City Hall are offered every week. Tours are limited to 20 individuals and reservations must be made in advance. The next tour date is listed below.

Group Tours:

  • Tuesday, September 27 at 10:30 a.m.

  • Tuesday, October 4 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, October 11 at 10:30 a.m.

  • Tuesday, October 18 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, October 25 at 10:30 a.m.

Individuals Tours:

  • Wednesday, September 21 at 12:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 22 at 10:00 a.m. (This tour is full)

  • Wednesday, September 28 at 12:00 p.m.

  • Thursday, September 29 at 10:00 a.m. (This tour is full)
  • Wednesday, October 5 at 12:00 p.m.

  • Thursday, October 13 at 10:00 a.m.
  • Wednesday, October 19 at 12:00 p.m.

  • Thursday, October 20 at 10:00 a.m.
  • Wednesday, October 26 at 12:00 p.m.

  • Thursday, October 27 at 10:00 a.m.

Make a reservation. 

City Hall rotunda
City Hall rotunda. Photograph by Andrew Moore.