About Districting Commission

On May 20, 2013 the United States Department of Justice (DOJ) granted pre-clearance to the New York City Districting Commission’s plan to divide the City into 51 Council districts. This plan was submitted to the Department of Justice on March 22, 2013 to be reviewed by DOJ for compliance with Section 5 of the Federal Voting Rights Act. The Department of Justice’s determination will allow the new Council district lines to be implemented for the upcoming 2013 citywide elections.

View the DOJ Pre-Clearance letter

Other documents of interest:

DOJ Submission and Exhibits

Individual District Maps – Final Districting Plan

Staff Memorandum regarding the Final Districting Plan ( Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Korean, Bengali )

NYC map of districts