Tobacco and E-cigarette Retailers

New Laws for Flavored E-Cigarettes and Tobacco Products

As of July 1, 2020, almost all flavored tobacco and e-cigarette products can no longer be sold in New York City.

  • Stores with an e-cigarette license may sell e-cigarettes, e-liquids or liquid nicotine that are tobacco-flavored or unflavored. This includes all disposable, refillable and tank-based vaping products.
  • Stores with a tobacco license may sell cigarettes with tobacco or menthol flavors. They may also sell other tobacco products that are unflavored or are tobacco, menthol, mint or wintergreen flavored.

Frequently Asked Questions for Retailers (PDF)
Other Languages: Español | 繁體中文 | 简体中文 | 한국어 | বাংলা | العربية | हिन्दी

Guidance for Wholesalers and Distributors (PDF)
Other Languages: Español | 繁體中文 | 简体中文 | 한국어 | বাংলা | العربية | हिन्दी


We provide information to organizations, vendors and worksites that must follow New York’s tobacco and e-cigarette laws.

For more information about how to comply with these regulations, email tobacco@health.nyc.gov

Tobacco and E-cigarette Retailers

To sell tobacco products and electronic cigarettes in NYC, you must have the relevant licenses and registration.

Price and Pack Size Regulations

Flavored Products Prohibition

Signage Requirements

  • All NYC tobacco and e-cigarette retailers are required to post this sign
  • Tobacco retailers must post a sign stating that valid New York State and City tax stamps must be on all cigarette packs sold in New York City.
  • New York State requires additional signs:
  • Food service establishments are required to post different signs. For details, please visit the Smoke-Free Air Laws page.

Other Tobacco and E-cigarette Retail Regulations

The City Tobacco Product Regulation Act (PDF) and State Adolescent Tobacco Use Prevention Act (PDF) include many other restrictions related to the sale of tobacco products:

  • Retailers may not sell cigarettes, other tobacco products and e-cigarettes to people under the age of 21.
  • Employees younger than 18 years old cannot sell, dispense or handle tobacco products without direct supervision of someone who is at least 18 years old. This person must be present on the premises.
  • Tobacco products cannot be sold in vending machines anywhere other than at a tavern.
  • Most tobacco and e-cigarette retailers must keep tobacco products behind a counter or in locked containers.
  • Retailers in NYC within 500 feet of schools may not advertise or display tobacco or e-cigarette products in their outward facing windows.

Sensible Tobacco Enforcement FAQ (PDF)
Other Languages: Español | Français | 한국어 | Русский | 中文 | 简体中文

File a complaint about underage sales online or by calling 311

See fines and penalties for different types of tobacco and e-cigarette law violations:

Education Toolkit for Tobacco Retailers

Additional Resources

More Information