COVID-19: Vaccine

Vaccination Eligibility and Requirements

Public Indoor Activity Restrictions

As of August 17, only vaccinated people in NYC will be allowed at various public indoor activities.

Learn more about these new requirements and the different ways you can prove you have been vaccinated.


The COVID-19 vaccine is now available in NYC to people 12 and older.

Note: People who are 12 to 17 years old are only eligible for the Pfizer vaccine.

Find a vaccination site near you (not accessible with Internet Explorer). If you have questions, call 833-NYS-4VAX (833-697-4829).

New York City is committed to ensuring that access to the vaccine is fair and equitable.

Booster Shot and Third Dose Eligibility

Some people who have received both doses of the Pfizer vaccine are now eligible for a booster shot. To receive a booster shot, you must be one of the following:

  • 65 or older
  • 18 to 64 and either have an underlying medical condition or a higher risk of COVID-19 exposure due to their job (for example, health care workers) or where they live or frequently visit (for example, a homeless shelter)
  • Live in a long-term care facility

You can only get a booster shot if you received your second dose of the Pfizer vaccine at least six months ago. There are no exceptions to this restriction.

It is recommended that people who have received two doses of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine receive a third dose as part of their initial vaccine series if they are moderately to severely immunocompromised (meaning they have a weakened immune system). These people should get their third dose at least 28 days after their second shot.

Pre-Vaccination Requirements

Before you get your vaccination, be sure to follow these requirements:

  • Check that you have proof of age.
  • Complete the New York State COVID-19 Vaccine Form before your appointment.
  • Reschedule if you are not feeling well on the day of your appointment.
  • Wear a mask to your appointment. You will not be admitted to the site without one.

Proof of Age

You must bring proof of age to your vaccination.

You will not need to provide proof of immigration status or a social security number to get vaccinated. ID is only required for proof of age.

When you receive the vaccine, your privacy will be protected. There are strict laws in place to ensure confidentiality of your personal information.

Proof you are 12 or older may include:

  • Driver's license or non-driver ID
  • IDNYC
  • State or government-issued birth certificate
  • Current U.S. passport or valid foreign passport
  • Permanent resident card
  • Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship
  • Life insurance policy with birthdate
  • Marriage certificate with birthdate
  • For people younger than 18, a parent or guardian can accompany them to the vaccination site to attest to their age

Proof of Consent for Minors

A parent or guardian must provide consent for their child to be vaccinated in person or by phone. They will not need to provide proof they are the child's parent or guardian.

Some providers, including all City-run sites, will accept proof of consent in writing. However, in-person or phone consent is preferred.

All minors who are 12 to 15 must be accompanied to the vaccination site by a parent or guardian, or another adult caregiver designated by the parent/guardian.

The child must also have a completed New York State COVID-19 Vaccine Form.