Pharmacists as Vaccinators
The New York State (NYS) Department of Education (ED) authorizes NYS-licensed pharmacists to provide vaccines to adults 18 years of age and older if they are certified by the NYSED to vaccinate against influenza, pneumococcal, meningococcal, herpes zoster and tetanus, diphtheria or pertussis diseases. NYS pharmacists who have not been certified as an immunizer in New York State and would like to do so can visit the NYSED pharmacist webpage for information.
Pharmacists must obtain a non-patient specific standing order from a licensed NYS physician or nurse practitioner to administer vaccines. In New York City (NYC), pharmacists who plan to vaccinate must obtain their standing order from a physician or nurse practitioner who is licensed in NYS and located in NYC.
A complete review of the laws, rules and regulations concerning NYS pharmacist vaccination can be found here.
Pharmacists who are interested in vaccinating their patients but cannot find a physician or nurse practitioner in the state to issue a standing order may be able to receive one from the NYC Department of Health. Pharmacists who are interested in vaccinating their patients using a standing order must attend one orientation session offered by the Department of Health. Please download the registration form (PDF), and send the completed form to the fax number or email address found on the form. You can request more information by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
Pharmacists administering vaccine in NYC are required to report vaccine doses given to individuals 18 years of age to the CIR, pursuant to New York State Education Law Section 6801 and New York City Health Code Section 11.07 (See also New York State Public Health Law Section 2168). In addition, vaccinating pharmacists must also report vaccines administered to adults 19 years and older to the CIR with consent of the individual receiving the vaccine. (Public Health Law Section 2168 (3)(b)(ii). Pharmacists must report vaccinations to the CIR within 14 days of administering the vaccine. You can find more information on this reporting requirement in this notification letter and these FAQs.
New York State pharmacists who have not yet been certified as an immunizer in New York State and would like to do so should contact the Office of Professions at the New York State Education Department (NYSED).