Smoke-Free Air Act of 2002: Tenant/Landlord Fact Sheet

  1. Smoking or using electronic cigarettes is prohibited in common indoor areas of buildings with three or more residential units.
  2. Common indoor areas of residential buildings include:
    • Hallways
    • Stairwells
    • Lobbies
    • Laundry rooms
    • Other work areas of the building used by tenants or by maintenance and building personnel
  3. In all common indoor areas of the building, building owners must display either:
    • Separate “No smoking" and "No electronic cigarette use" signs.
    • A single sign that says “No smoking or electronic cigarette use".
  4. Owners of residential buildings are responsible for all violations reported concerning the Smoke Free Air Act and may incur penalties if they fail to comply with the law.
  5. Smoking and electronic cigarette use is not prohibited in apartments or other private residences, except in areas where child day care centers or health care facilities operate and are open or employees are working.

You can report a violation of the Smoke-Free Air Act online.

More Information