This exemption provides a $1,500 reduction in assessed value on a property owned by a member of the clergy. If the clergy member is deceased, an unremarried surviving spouse can also receive the exemption. Owners of co-ops are not eligible for the clergy exemption.


You may be eligible for the clergy exemption if:

  • You are now or have ever been a full-time member of the clergy.
  • Your property is not a cooperative.
  • Your primary residence is located in the state of New York.
  • You are one of the following:
    • An active clergy member engaged in ministerial work as your principal occupation.
    • A clergy member unable to perform such work due to illness or impairment. (Medical documentation required.)
    • A retired clergy member over 70.
    • The unremarried surviving spouse of a clergy member.

Renewing Your Exemption

The Department of Finance mailed renewal applications to all clergy exemption recipients in December 2019. Please complete and return that application. The deadline to renew your exemption for tax year 2020-21 is March 16, 2020. The clergy exemption requires annual renewal in order to continue receiving it. You can download a copy of the application below.



For benefits to begin on July 1 of the year you apply, you must complete the application and submit all of the required documents by March 15. If March 15 falls on a weekend, the deadline will be the next business day.

Property Owners: You may also be eligible for the Disabled Homeowners', Senior Citizen Homeowners', and veterans exemptions. Read More

Need Help? Contact 311 or  Email Us.