A New York state law, effective April 2020, prevents property owners who have been delinquent with their property taxes for more than one year from receiving the Basic STAR benefit. This applies to both the Basic STAR exemption and Basic STAR credit. You will receive a notice from the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance if you are impacted.
Once you receive a notice from the state, you will have until June 1, 2020, to pay your property taxes. If you pay your taxes after June 1, you can apply for the Basic STAR credit with the state. The STAR exemption will no longer be available to you, though you will still be eligible for the STAR credit.
Or mail your payment to:
NYC Department of Finance
P.O. Box 680
Newark, New Jersey 07101-0680
If you are experiencing a hardship, you may be eligible for a property tax payment plan. If you are receiving an Enhanced STAR exemption or credit, you will not be affected by the new law. For more information, please visit https://www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/rp-425-dele.htm or call 311.
If you currently receive the Basic or Enhanced STAR exemption, you will continue to receive it, but you can choose to register for the STAR credit to receive a check instead. You may receive a larger benefit with the credit, as the amount of the STAR credit will increase in the future, but the value of the exemption will not.
To learn more, visit www.tax.ny.gov/star or contact the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance at (518) 457-2036.
About Basic STAR and Enhanced STAR
Homeowners not currently receiving STAR who meet the program's eligibility requirements may apply for the STAR tax credit with the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance. More information is available at www.tax.ny.gov/star or by calling (518) 457-2036.
You may apply for the Basic STAR or Enhanced STAR tax exemption with the NYC Department of Finance if:
* Effective Tax Year 2021-2022 the income limit for Enhanced STAR has increased to $90,550
|Eligibility||Basic STAR||Enhanced STAR|
|Age||There is no age requirement.||You currently have STAR exemption on your property. All owners must be 65 or older by the end of the calendar year in which the exemption begins, unless they are the spouse or sibling of an owner who is 65 or older by that time. For example, if you own the property and are applying for an exemption that will begin on July 1, 2016, you or your spouse or sibling must be 65 or older by December 31, 2016.|
|Income||The combined income of all resident owners (owners who live on the property) and of any owner’s resident spouse. Total income that is more than $250,000 must register for the STAR credit with New York State. Income is federal adjusted gross income minus the taxable amount of total distributions from annuities or individual retirement accounts (commonly known as IRAs). Income documents will be required to establish your eligibility for this program.||
For 2020 benefits: $88,050 or less
For 2021 benefits: $90,550 or lessThe combined income of all owners and of a resident owner's spouse cannot be more than $90,550. Income is federal adjusted gross income minus the taxable amount of total distributions from annuities or individual retirement accounts (commonly known as IRAs). Income documents will be required to establish your eligibility for this program.
|Primary residence||The property must be the primary residence of at least one owner. Married couples owning more than one property can only have STAR on one property unless they are divorced or legally separated and can provide documentation to support their claim.||The property must be the primary residence of at least one owner. Married couples can only have STAR on one property unless they are divorced or legally separated and can provide documentation to support their claim.|
|Benefit||The approximate benefit is a $293 tax reduction||The approximate benefit is a $650 tax reduction|
Note: Properties that receive the 421a benefit are not eligible for the STAR exemption.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Exemption applications for tax year 2021-22 will be available on July 1, 2020.
Note for Property Owners: You may also be eligible to receive the following exemptions: Clergy, Disabled Homeowner, Senior Citizen Homeowner and Veterans. Read More
Need Help? Contact 311 or Email Us.