You can request a hearing online, by mail or via the Pay or Dispute mobile app. Please choose one of these options to help ensure social distancing at our business centers, which are operating at reduced capacity due to COVID-19. If you cannot conduct your hearing online, by mail, or via the app, you can schedule an in-person hearing. Please note that in-person parking ticket and camera violation hearings for commercial vehicles remain suspended at this time. In-person appeal hearings will resume on April 5.
The time limit for submitting parking ticket hearing requests has been suspended until further notice. The time limit for submitting parking ticket appeals has been suspended until further notice. No additional penalties will be added to any unpaid non-judgment parking tickets issued on or after March 22, 2020, until further notice. The 30-day period to pay or dispute camera violations has resumed. Tickets that were in judgment prior to March 22, 2020, will continue to incur interest.
If we do not receive payment for the ticket or a hearing request from you, then approximately 100 days after your ticket is issued, it will go into judgment. You cannot have a hearing on your ticket in judgment if is more than one year old.
Once your hearing is complete, you have the right to appeal a hearing decision. For more information click, "Appeal a Hearing Decision" below.
Do not dispute the ticket if you believe the ticket was already paid or dismissed. For more information click, "Already Paid or Dismissed Tickets" below.
The Department of Finance recognizes that members of the public have the right to choose whether to represent themselves or rely on the services of a broker. While we will not endorse or recommend a particular broker, it is our obligation to inform the public when a broker has been found guilty of unethical conduct in the performance of his or her duty.
If you attended an in-person hearing, you may request a transcript of the hearing record for your appeal. You are responsible for paying the cost of the transcript. To submit a request for a transcript and to learn the cost, submit the online Request a Hearing Transcript form, or mail a letter with the summons number(s), hearing date(s), the vehicle’s license plate number and state of registration, and the respondent’s name or the name of the vehicle owner, to:
New York City Department of Finance
Parking Ticket Transcript Processing
66 John Street, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10038
You will be informed of the cost of the transcript within seven business days from our receipt of your request. If you submitted your request online, we will notify you of the cost by email; if you submitted your request by mail, we will notify you by mail. If you wish to accept the cost and order the transcript, you must pay by check payable to “NYC Department of Finance.” The check must be received by the Department of Finance within 10 business days of the date on the letter or email in which we informed you of the transcript’s cost. You must include a copy of your transcript request with your check. A mailing address for your check will be provided when we inform you of the transcript’s cost.
If payment is not received by that time, your transcript request will be denied and your appeal will go forward as scheduled. No further transcript requests for your appeal will be accepted. Please note that the Department of Finance does not currently charge an administrative fee for transcript requests and will not do so until such time as the agency updates its rules or revises its procedures.