Board Leadership

Board Leadership

Chirlane McCray, Chair, Board of Directors

Chirlane McCray

As First Lady of New York City, Chirlane McCray has redefined the role of First Lady, managing a robust portfolio to advance an ambitious agenda in support of all New Yorkers.

Ms. McCray created ThriveNYC, the most comprehensive mental health plan of any city or state in the nation, and she is recognized nationally as a powerful champion for mental health reform.

Additionally, Ms. McCray spearheads the Cities Thrive Coalition of mayors, with representation from more than 150 cities from all 50 states, advocating for a more integrated and better-funded behavioral health system.

As Chair of the Mayor's Fund to Advance New York City, she brings together government, philanthropy and the private sector to work on some of the most pressing issues of our time, including mental health, youth employment and immigration.

Ms. McCray's other duties are extensive.

As co-chair of the Commission on Gender Equity, she is a persistent voice for creating a 50-50 city and world.

In partnership with NYC's Police Chief, she leads the Domestic Violence Task Force.

And in 2015, with her signature, New York City became the first city in the country to join the United Nations Women's Safe Cities Global Initiative.

She is passionate about public service and leverages her platform in innovative ways to bring change where it is needed.

Ms. McCray believes that art is not a luxury and works closely with NYC's Department of Cultural Affairs on dynamic projects with partners like the Public Art Fund and the Studio Museum in Harlem. She oversees the Gracie Mansion Conservancy and is intent on making sure that the programming, installations and exhibits are more accessible to the public, and better reflect the rich history and many cultures that make up New York City. In 2016, she launched the Gracie Mansion Book Club.

Among her many awards and accolades, she was honored as the 2017 Change Champion by the National Council for Behavioral Health and recently received the BWA Health award for her leadership in NYC from the Black Women's Agenda, a national, 40-year-old nonprofit that promotes the well-being of African-American women and their families.

Ms. McCray has transformed the traditional responsibilities of First Lady, working in close partnership with her husband and becoming the first in her position to address a U.S. Conference of Mayors annual meeting, testify before the New York City Council and serve as commencement speaker for a major college or university.

The First Lady is a graduate of Wellesley College and has accepted an Honorary Doctor of Science from the CUNY Graduate School of Public Health and Health Policy.

Ms. McCray and Mayor Bill de Blasio live in Gracie Mansion, the official residence, and are proud parents of Chiara and Dante.

Rob Speyer, Chairman of the Advisory Board

Rob Speyer

Rob Speyer has served as Chairman of the Mayor's Fund Advisory Board since 2006. He is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Tishman Speyer, one of the world's pre-eminent real estate developers, with properties throughout North and South America, Europe, China and India.

Rob is Chairman of the Real Estate Board of New York (REBNY), the city's premier industry association, and is active in numerous civic initiatives throughout New York City. As Co-Chairman of the Construction Committee of the St. Patrick's Cathedral Landmark Foundation, he is helping to oversee the renovation of the country's most renowned cathedral. Rob currently sits on the Board of Trustees of New York-Presbyterian Hospital; the Board of Visitors of Columbia College (emeritus); and the Board of Trustees of the Citizens Budget Commission.

He also serves on the International Advisory Board of the Fudan University School of Management in Shanghai; Peking University's International Advisory Committee in Beijing; the Board of Directors of the Real Estate Roundtable; the International Advisory Council of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce; and the International Advisory Board of The Atlantic Council.