Commission Members

Commission Members

Co-Chairs of the Commission


  • Shahara Ahmad-Llewellyn, President, S. Ahmad-Llewellyn Family Foundation
  • Sasha Ahuja, Chief of Staff at Girls for Gender Equity and Chair of New York City's Equal Employment Practices Commission
  • Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder, Ancient Song Doula Services
  • Chitra Aiyar, Executive Director, Sadie Nash Leadership Project
  • Ivelyse Andino, CEO, Radical Health
  • Diana Ayala, New York City Council Member
  • Radhika Balakrishnan, Faculty Director, Center for Women's Global Leadership and Professor of Women's and Gender Studies, Rutgers University
  • Taina Bien-Aime, Executive Director, International Coalition Against Trafficking in Women
  • Jimmie Briggs, Journalist and Human Rights Advocate; Co-Founder and Executive Director, Man-Up Campaign
  • Beverly Cooper Neufeld, Founder & President, PowHer New York
  • Laurie Cumbo, New York City Council Member and Majority Leader
  • Cecilia Gaston, Executive Director, Violence Intervention Program
  • Andrea Hagelgans, Executive Vice President for Public Affairs, Edelman, New York Office
  • Sherry Hakimi, Executive Director, genEquality
  • Anne Hess, Co-Founder & Co-Chair, MADRE
  • Imara Jones, Creator, Translash Media
  • Nancy Kolben, Executive Director, Center for Children's Initiatives
  • Sherry Leiwant, Co-Founder & Co-President, A Better Balance
  • Danielle Moss, Executive Director, Oliver Scholars
  • Robina Niaz, Founder, Turning Point for Women and Families
  • Sonia Ossorio, President, National Organization for Women New York City
  • Laura Popa, Deputy Chief of Staff for Legislation and Policy, New York City Council
  • Carlina Rivera, New York City Council Member
  • Helen Rosenthal, New York City Council Member and Chair of the Committee on Women and Gender Equity
  • Kiara St. James, Founder and Executive Director of New York Transgender Advocacy Group
  • Celeste Smith, Former Vice President, J.P. Morgan Chase Private Bank
  • Beverly Tillery, Executive Director, New York City Anti-Violence Project
  • Ellyn Toscano, Senior Director for Programming, Partnerships and Community Engagement, NYU in Brooklyn
  • Shyama Venkateswar, Senior Director of Learning, Seramount

Ex-Officio Member

  • Annabel Palma, Chair/Commissioner, New York City Commission on Human Rights