MOME Spotlight Award

MOME created the Spotlight Award to illuminate excellence in the film, TV, music, publishing, digital content, and advertising sectors. The award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the growth of NYC's thriving media and entertainment industries.

2017 Awardees:

Nasir "Nas" Jones

"I'm really honored by this award. Anyone who knows me, knows what New York City means to me and this is special because of that connection. I want to send a special thank you to the Mayor's office, Lucian and Michele." - Nasir "Nas" Jones

Full press release

Seth Meyers, Late Night with Seth Meyers

MOME Spotlight Award

"I am honored to receive The Spotlight Award from the Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment. New York is a perfect place for me to film a show, not just because of the talented community of professionals who make it what it is, but also because I live here and if we filmed somewhere else my commute would be too long." - Seth Meyers

Full press release

Greg Young and Tom Meyers, "The Bowery Boys" podcast

Made in NY Awards

The "Made in NY" Awards celebrate excellence in New York City's creative community and recognize the achievements of individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the City's entertainment and digital media industries.


"Made in NY" Honoree Alysia Reiner

"I grew up on the upper west side of Manhattan, I live in Harlem now and I feel blessed beyond measure to make a living as an artist, and to do so in this city," said Made in NY Award Recipient Alysia Reiner. "There is always some magical piece of art being made here. This city defines grit and perseverance. We are a group of humans who get back up, help the next person up, hopefully learn, and definitely tell a really funny story about it."

Full press release



"Made in NY" Honoree Michael Kenneth Williams (Video by Jamie Stuart)

"I'm overwhelmed with happiness and gratitude for being given the Made in NY award. The city is and will continue to be an intrinsic part of who I am both personally and as an entertainer." - Michael Kenneth Williams

Full press release

Previous winners include:


Michael Kenneth Williams
Alysia Reiner


Aziz Ansari
Judith Light


Steve Buscemi
Neil Patrick Harris
Albert Maysles
Stanley Nelson
Rosie Perez
Producers Guild of America
Jane Raab


Alan Cumming
Heidi Klum
Spike Lee
Audra McDonald
Sheila Nevins
Barbara Walters


Robert DeNiro
Whoopi Goldberg
Radical Media
Kelly Ripa
Meryl Streep
Anne Meara/Jerry Stiller


Matt Damon
John Leguizamo
Sidney Lumet
Stacy Spikes
Lauren Zalaznick


Angela Lansbury
Saturday Night Live
HSI Productions
Lee Daniels
Brooklyn Workforce Innovations
WFT Productions


Edie Falco
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Gerry Byrne
Hungry Man
Alliance for Inclusion in the Arts
Sesame Street


Jessie Martin
Rachael Ray
Robert Greenberg
Michelle Byrd
Theatre for a New Audience


Tina Fey
Kevin Breslin
Joana Vicente and Jason Kliot
The New Victory Theatre
Warrington Hudlin


Noah Baumbach
Joe Benincasa
Marcia Gay Harden
Kamaria Alvy Johnson
Jennifer Jason Leigh
Matthew Miller
Tamara Tunie


Full list and descriptions:

MOME Spotlight Award