Nightlife Advisory Board

As a complement to the newly formed Office of Nightlife, this all-volunteer, 14-member independent body, will advise the Mayor and the City Council on issues affecting the nightlife industry. The Nightlife Advisory Board is also charged with making independent recommendations to the Mayor and City Council on ways to improve regulations and policies that impact nightlife establishments. All appointed members will serve a term of two years.


Read more in the full Press Release

You may contact the Advisory Board at:



Nightlife Advisory Board Members


Mayoral Appointees

  • José Francisco Ávila- Founder and Managing Member of Garufina Afro-Latina Entertainment; Board Chairman of the Garifuna Coalition USA
  • Kurtis Blow - Rapper, Singer, Songwriter, Producer, DJ and Chairman of the Universal Hip Hop Museum
  • DJ Tikka Masala - Composer and Producer for the Obie and Bessie Award-Winning Feminist Acrobatic Dance Company LAVA and Resident DJ at Henrietta Hudson
  • Susan Stetzer - District Manager of Manhattan Community Board 3 for the past 14 years
  • Luisa F. Torres - Owner of Mojitos Restaurant Bar and Community Activist

City Council Appointees

  • Andrew Rigie (Chairperson) - Executive Director of the New York City Hospitality Alliance
  • Olympia Kazi (Vice Chair) - Architect, Arts Advocate, Urban Design Critic and Member of the NYC Artists Coalition
  • Susan Xenarios (Secretary) - Director and Founder, of the Crime Victims Treatment Center at Mount Sinai St. Luke’s and Roosevelt Hospitals

  • Robert Bookman - Regulatory and Liquor Licensing Attorney, Partner at Pesetsky and Bookman
  • Marti Gould Cummings - Drag Artist and LGBTQ Advocate
  • Alvester Garnett - Drummer, Percussionist, Arts Educator and Advocate
  • Pedro Goico - Representative of the New York Supermarket Association
  • Andrew Praschak - Environmental Attorney and LGBTQ advocate
  • David Rosen - Bar Operator, Community Organizer and Co-Founder of Brooklyn Allied Bars and Restaurants (BABAR)