New York City Police Department311Search all websites


The New York City Police Department is headed by the Police Commissioner, who is appointed by the Mayor. His function is to carry out the department's critical mission: ensuring a safe, secure environment and enhancing the quality of life for all New Yorkers.

Reporting to the Police Commissioner are the First Deputy Commissioner, Deputy Commissioners, Chief of Department (highest ranking uniformed member of the service), and Bureau Chiefs.

Police Commissioner
Dermot Shea
First Deputy Commissioner
Benjamin B. Tucker
Chief of Department
Terence Monahan
Deputy Commissioners
Community Partnerships Chauncey Parker
Counsel to Police Commissioner Ashley Waters
Department Advocate Amy J. Litwin
Employee Relations Robert L. Ganley
Equity and Inclusion Tanya Meisenholder
Executive Communications William W. Andrews
Information Technology Matthew C. Fraser
Intelligence & Counterterrorism John J. Miller
Internal Affairs Joseph J. Reznick
Labor Relations John P. Beirne
Legal Matters Ernest F. Hart
Management and Budget Kristine M. Ryan
Risk Management Jeffrey Schlanger
Public Information Richard J. Esposito
Strategic Initiatives Danielle M. Pemberton
Support Services Bureau Robert S. Martinez
Trials Rosemarie Maldonado
Chief of Staff Vincent Grippo
Community Affairs Jeffrey B. Maddrey
Crime Control Strategies Michael Lipetri
Criminal Justice Donna G. Jones
Collaborative Policing Juanita N. Holmes
Counterterrorism Martine Materasso
Detectives Rodney Harrison
Housing David P. Barrere
Intelligence Thomas Galati
Management Analysis & Planning Thomas M. Chan
Patrol Services Fausto B. Pichardo
Personnel Martin Morales
Special Operations Harry Wedin
Supervising Chief Surgeon Eli J. Kleinman, MD, MPH
Support Services Raymond Spinella
Training Theresa Shortell
Transit Edward Delatorre
Transportation Nilda Irizarry Hofmann