Education Councils

Community and Citywide Education Councils work with the Chancellor and district superintendents to review educational programs in each district.

There are 32 Community Education Councils in New York City. Each community school district that includes public Kindergarten through 8th grade must have a Community Education Council.

There are also four Citywide Education Councils that advocate for students in special populations, including high schools, English Language Learners, District 75, and Special Education.

All council members are selected for 2-year terms by the Parent Associations or Parent Teacher Associations (PA/PTAs) of the schools in their district.

The deadline to apply to serve on an Education Council was March 10, 2017.