Tuberculosis (TB) is still a life-threatening problem in New York City. Eliminating TB requires the collaboration of the Health Department, health care providers, and communities.
TB Provider Hotline: (844) 713-0559 (toll-free) — Call to report cases, refer patients, and get expert medical consultation.
For information about TB and how the City is working to eliminate it as a health problem, download the 2019 Bureau of Tuberculosis Control Annual Summary (PDF).
Sign up for the Health Department’s TB Action News to receive updates on TB news, events and other notices.
As of November 18, 2019, the NYC Health Code requires laboratories to report ALL test results for tuberculosis (TB) infection, including negative and indeterminate results, for ALL persons tested regardless of age. This change applies only to laboratories. For more information, consult the NYC Board of Health's Notice of Adoption (PDF) or view the NYC Health Code.
By law, medical, dental and osteopathic and other health care providers and infection control practitioners and administrators of hospital or other institutions providing care and treatment, are required to report all suspected or confirmed cases of TB within 24 hours of diagnosis or clinical suspicion.
Medical providers must report these patients even though microbiologists and pathologists are also required to report findings consistent with TB. Under certain circumstances, providers may need to submit an updated or corrected report.
How to Report?
Electronically (Preferred Method)
Providers must create an account at NYCMED (for help, call (888) 692-6339) and submit an electronic Universal Reporting Form.
Laboratories must report through NY State's Electronic Clinical Laboratory Reporting System (ECLRS)
A portion of the initial culture must be sent for DNA analysis to the NYC Public Health Laboratory (455 First Avenue, Room 236; New York, NY 10016) within 24 hours of observing growth of M. tuberculosis complex in a culture from any specimen.
Mail the completed Universal Reporting Form to the Health Department at the address shown above within 24 hours of diagnosis. To meet the 24-hour deadline, use an overnight courier.
Testing and Diagnosis Guidelines
Mail or fax the following forms to the Health Department for each patient being treated for active TB:
Refer a patient for Directly Observed Therapy (DOT) using the DOT Referral Form (PDF)
Report treatment for Latent TB Infection (LTBI) by submitting the Latent TB Infection Therapy Report (TB 78) (PDF) via mail or fax.
Discharge of an Infectious (sputum smear positive) TB Patient
The New York City Health Code mandates health care providers to obtain approval from the Health Department at least 72 hours prior to discharging infectious TB patients from the hospital. Weekend and holiday discharge arrangements should be made in advance.
To request discharge approval, fax the Hospital Discharge Approval Request Form to (844) 713-0557/0558 (toll-free) between 8 AM and 5 PM. Within 24 hours, the Health Department will notify the provider of any additional information or actions required for approval prior to discharge.
Use the Hospital Discharge Planning Checklist (PDF) to help determine whether a patient may be discharged.