Stoop Line Stand

Stoop Line Stand License Application Checklist

Who Must Have a Stoop Line Stand License?

You must have a Stoop Line Stand license if your business sells fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, flowers, confectionery, or ice cream from a stand outside of and directly adjacent to an existing retail establishment.

This description is only a general explanation of who must have a Stoop Line Stand license.

Quick List of Requirements to Apply for a Stoop Line Stand License

See Requirements section for detailed descriptions. Make sure you provide all requirements; otherwise, your application is incomplete. DCA can only consider complete applications for license issuance.

  • Basic License Application
  • Stoop Line Stand Affirmation
  • Proof of Right to Use Premises
  • Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (if applicable)
  • License Fee
Submitting your application does not mean your license is automatically approved.

Important Message about Business Certificate

You must have the applicable Business Certificate based on your business’s legal structure. Although DCA does not require submission of your Business Certificate in order to process your application, DCA may request this document under section 20-104 of the New York City Administrative Code.

Sole proprietors operating under a name other than your own must have a Business/Assumed Name Certificate.

Partnerships must have a Partnership Certificate and, if applicable, an Assumed Name Certificate for your business.

Corporations, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, or Limited Liability Partnerships must register and remain active with the New York State Division of Corporations. You can check your status at www.dos.ny.gov/corps.

Requirements

DCA will deny your application if you do not submit these required documents and information:

  • Basic License Application.
    If your stoop line stands all have the same category of items for sale, you need to submit only ONE license application, regardless of their width.

    If your stoop line stands vary in the items for sale, you must submit a separate license application for EACH differing set of stands. For example, you plan to sell fruits from two stands and confectionery from another stand. You must submit TWO license applications: #1 (for fruits); #2 (for confectionery). Complete one application for set #1. Complete a separate application for set #2.

    Note: If two (2) stoop line stands are separated by a door or other structure, they will be considered two (2) separate stands for licensing purposes.
  • Proof of Right to Use Premises
    Submit ONE of the following documents as proof of right to use premises where your stoop line stand will operate:
  • Granting Authority to Act Affirmation, if applicable.
    Required if someone other than the license applicant will prepare and submit this application. Note: The applicant must sign the license application and all related forms.
  • License Fee.
    License Period: 2 years. Expiration Date: March 31, Even Years.

License Fee: (based on type of items on your stand)
If You File Your Application Between These Dates: Fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, flowers Confectionery             
Ice cream            
From April 1 in an even year to September 30 in an even year Pay $160 for a license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 24 months.) Pay $80 for a license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 24 months.) Pay $80 for a license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 24 months.)
From October 1 in an even year to March 31 in an odd year Pay $120 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 18 months.) Pay $60 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 18 months.) Pay $60 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 18 months.)
From April 1 in an odd year to September 30 in an odd year Pay $80 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 12 months.) Pay $40 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 12 months.) Pay $40 for a license expiring March 31 of the soonest even year. (Valid for at most 12 months.)
From October 1 in an odd year to March 31 in an even year Pay $40 for a license expiring March 31 of the same even year. (Valid for at most 6 months.) OR Pay $200 for a license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 30 months.) Pay $20 for a license expiring March 31 of the same even year. (Valid for at most 6 months.) OR Pay $100 for license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 30 months.) Pay $20 for a license expiring March 31 of the same even year. (Valid for at most 6 months.) OR Pay $100 for a license expiring March 31 of the next even year. (Valid for at most 30 months.)


Pay by:
  • Check or money order payable to DCA. (In person)

  • Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card only). You will be charged a nonrefundable Convenience Fee. (In person or online)

Application Filing Process

File in person
File in person at the DCA Licensing Center or NYC Small Business Support Center.
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS (DCA) LICENSING CENTER
42 Broadway, Lobby
New York, NY 10004
Monday-Friday: 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
NYC SMALL BUSINESS
SUPPORT CENTER

90-27 Sutphin Blvd, 4th Floor
Jamaica, NY 11435
Monday-Friday: 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Free Interpretation Services are available on-site. To request a disability-related accommodation, please call DCA’s Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator at (212) 436-0155 or visit our Accommodations page.

OR

File Online
  1. Review requirements for the license and gather all materials before clicking the button below to submit your application online using a laptop or desktop computer.
  2. If you haven’t registered an account with the City of New York, you will need to register an account before you can proceed to the online application.
  3. After you submit the online application, follow the instructions on the confirmation page. DCA cannot process incomplete applications.
  4. Important: If you need to file another license application, return to the Apply for a DCA License page to read requirements and proceed to the online application.
Apply Online

Additional Resources for Stoop Line Stand

  • For resources to help your business open, operate, and grow, visit nyc.gov/business



Get Voter Information
Note: Whether you apply to register to vote or not, it will not affect the assistance DCA will provide to you.